Armagh Harps V Dromore - Match Reports

03 February 2013
Armagh Harps 3-11 St. Dympna’s Dromore 2-4

Playing against a stiff breeze in the first half, Armagh Harps got themselves off to
the perfect start at Creggan. Corner forward Ryan McShane helped himself to 0-
3 with further points from Padraig Rafferty (2), Shay Grimley, Simon McCoy and
Joseph McElroy leaving them eight points to one in front after twenty minutes.
However, Dromore have caused problems with their running game with Niall
Sludden and Colm O'Neill the most dangerous. The Tyrone men registered 1-2
without reply including a superb penalty from Jack Poyntz after Colm MacRory
was dragged down after a superb pass from Sean Muldoon.

Dromore had the ideal start to the second half with Rory O'Neill making a
superb block on the line in the first minute and other corner back Sean Muldoon
racing up the field to crash home a goal that gave them an unlikely 2-3 to 0-8
lead having trailed 0-8 to 0-1 at one point in the first half. However, this was
as good as it got for the Tryone champions as Armagh Harps went through the
gears to score two goals of their own in the follwing five minutes. Ryan McShane
grabbed both, one coming after a long ball beat the Dromore defence and the
other palmed home after Eoin Fields' effort came back off the bar. Armagh never

looked in trouble after these goals with McCoy adding two more points to another
McShane effort before Dromore's Sean McNabb finished out the scoring.

Armagh will fancy themselves to go further in the tournament after such a
dominant display against a tougher Dromore team than the score line suggests.
The half back line of Karl Loughran, Conor White and Declan McKenna covered a
great amount of ground and supplied the forwards with long accurate ball all day.

Armagh Harps scorers: Ryan McShane (2-4); Simon McCoy (1-3); Padraig
Rafferty (0-2); Shay Grimley (0-1); Joseph McElroy (0-1)

Dromore scorers: Jack Poyntz (1-0 pen); Sean Muldoon (1-0); Colm O’Neill (0-1);
Matthew McCaffery (0-1); Niall Sludden (0-1); Sean McNabb (0-1)